music.love.caravan.

So life is beautiful and full and full on beautiful.

And so busy!! In an almost-always-way. and the days when it’s super overwhelming, that’s why we have amazing friends  (xoxo)

As of right now I have 3 to 4 shows per week booked between now and October 1st,. The month of October is still currently in the works. I have spent much time dreaming this all up and bringing it to life, but have not yet wrapped my head around the fact that it is actually happening!

Just over a week ago I released my album “To the stars we’ll return” to a great crowd in Vancouver.  It was so good to see everyone. Friends Devon and Keenan joined me on banjo and violin, and the new and collaborative energy on stage was one of the highlights of my night. They will be joining me at a festival coming up near the end of the month in the interior of BC and we’re pumped!

I’m learning so much every day, and it’s quite overwhelming. It’s hard to stop and take the time to reflect with so much learning happening every day, although I feel like my past experiences have prepped me well to handle everything to a degree that is just about manageable.

Some friends have joined me on the road, and have been “on tour” with me since Ucluelet (west coast Vancouver Island). I played one of my favourite venues 2 Saturdays ago, The Black Rock Resort lounge, and it felt so good to be there. The lounge sets a perfect tone and the people are always so beautiful. It was great to see so many familiar faces, and meet some new friends from as far as Germany as well as from all over BC and the states. It’s tourist season here and that means lots of interesting people exploring BC.

Close friend and musical accomplice Rachel McBride joined me for a set at an intimate unplugged show at Wild Heather Books last Sunday. Some sunshine and story telling, and it felt really good to be there. I’m enjoying all of the different types of shows, from intimate to rocking out, and am learning more every day about going with the flow of a room and changing things up as I go. Teaching me once again that the ability to adapt and surrender is so important to a fun show/life.

I also can’t thank friends and family enough for all of the support while I find my feet and establish a process. Elizabeth Markulin for her patience and help with all things art and web design, Laura Girardi and my mom for helping me with mail outs of different kinds, Rachel, Michelle, Julie and Laura for being amazing door/merch organizers, and everyone who has bought the album so far, offered words of encouragement, or come out to a show. I can’t express enough how much it all helps.

I’m currently laying in my van awaiting the start of a David Crosby concert in Courtenay, BC. MusicFest is a 4 day music festival here, and the talent this year has been amazing! Allison Krauss and Union station were outstanding on Thursday evening, and the jamming after hours in our camp has been incredible. Some musicians/bands I’d love to mention are Morlove (a compilation of Corwin Fox and Miss Emily Brown who are based in BC), Devon Sproule from Virginia(words won’t do her talent justice in my opinion…lyrical guitar folk genius), the violin stylings of Daniel Lapp, and so many others that have inspired me to figure out a way to just get better. They set the bar high and as challenging as it seems, its awesome to experience such quality of character and incredible talent to give me something to shoot for as a musician.

I can’t wait for the next couple weeks and the festival experiences I anticipate. The community of musicians and what there is to learn from each other…its like this awesome band camp that comes together with food and drink and dance, and then dissipates. It’s great that so many musicians play at various festivals, and you end up meeting up again along the road, with more stories and experiences to share. It’s a lifestyle and family that I am just beginning to tap into, and can’t wait for what the future holds.

This week I have shows all over the Comox valley, including a local festival, a farmer’s market, and shows in both Courtenay and Campbell River. Friday night I will be playing some songs with the wonderful band “Tin Town”, a local Courtenay funk band, as well as friend and wonderful human being Tom Walton on bass for a set.  The always incredible Paul Rodgers will be opening, and we’ll also do a few songs together. Following that, I have a show in Victoria before heading to the mainland for the Wild Salmon festival.

After that, it’s home for a Toronto Album release gathering, and I’m so excited to see family and friends that I haven’t seen in ages!!

I also can’t wait to be witness the marriage of my best friend Robyn and her awesome partner Steve!! They have asked me to sing them a song, and I’ll be trying hard to keep it together I’m sure. They just have that kind of relationship that gives you hope about what’s possible when love and friendship and hilarity meet in the middle.

So that brings me to now for the most part. I may post another blog in a week or so to get a bit more specific with stories and reports of inspiring characters, so if you’re interested check back. Thanks for your interest in my journey! I know I love reading about the happenings of others, so let me know if you have a blog that I don’t know about!

Lots of love and hope everyone is having a beautiful summer.

See you soon,

~Amy

Leave a Reply

